Cubs, Kyle Hendricks Settle at $7.4 Million for 2019

Kyle Hendricks became the first of the Cubs’ seven arbitration-eligible players to agree to a 2019 salary, settling very early Friday for $7.405 million. The agreement was reached at just after midnight CST and was first reported by Jon Heyman on Twitter. The new salary comes in around $200,000 less than projected by MLB Trade Rumors, but represents a raise of about $3.2 million for the righty.

So hey, if the Cubs can save around $34.8 million on their six remaining arb-eligible players, they might actually be able to make a legit run at Bryce Harper.

In all seriousness, the Cubs probably will try to save a little bit here and there — especially on Addison Russell, who’s projected at $4.3 million — through the filing process. Friday is the deadline for teams to exchange figures with players, at which point they can reach a settlement or proceed to a hearing at which a panel determines whether one side or the other is “right.”

Justin Grimm became the first Cubs player in the Theo Epstein era to go to the arbitration panel, an ill-advised move that forced him to take the team’s offer. Given their tight budget, the Cubs are expected to go with more of a file-and-trial approach that sees them taking a harder line on their salary offers. But that runs contrary to the more player-friendly approach they’ve taken in the past, so we’ll see.

Among the remaining arb-eligible players, Kris Bryant will have the highest overall salary and Javy Baez figures to get the biggest raise from last year’s $657K. Russell, Kyle Schwarber, Mike Montgomery, and Carl Edwards, Jr. are the remaining players who have yet to lock in their figures for this coming season.


Evan Altman

Evan Altman is the EIC and co-founder of Cubs Insider and has proclaimed himself Central Indiana's foremost Cubs authority. He is a husband, father, homebrewer, and award-winning blogger with entirely too much pop culture knowledge. Evan's greatest accomplishments include scoring 400 points in Magic Johnson's Fast Break, naming all 10 members of the Wu-Tang Clan in under 3.5 seconds, and winning the Meese Literary Award at Hanover College.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button