Cubs Release NLDS Roster

The Cubs have released their NLDS roster and it’s glorious, which I say because it’s exactly what I had predicted.

For those of you who are checking this on a work computer that blocks social media stuff, or if you just have poor eyesight, here’s a better version:

Position players

  • Willson Contreras
  • Anthony Rizzo
  • Ben Zobrist
  • Addison Russell
  • Kris Bryant
  • Jorge Soler
  • Dexter Fowler
  • Jason Heyward
  • Javy Baez
  • Chris Coghlan
  • Miguel Montero
  • David Ross
  • Albert Almora
  • Tommy La Stella


  • Jon Lester
  • Kyle Hendricks
  • Jake Arrieta
  • John Lackey
  • Justin Grimm
  • Pedro Strop
  • Hector Rondon
  • Aroldis Chapman
  • Carl Edwards Jr
  • Mike Montgomery
  • Travis Wood

The only real spots of contention were Albert Almora over Matt Szczur and Travis Wood over Trevor Cahill, but if you look over how the Cubs match up against the Giants and what those individuals bring to the table it’s a pretty easy decision. I offered a little more rationale in an earlier roster breakdown too, so you may want to check that out if you’re questioning the makeup.

If you’d like to continue the discourse on the roster construction, I’d love to hear from you. Comment away or @ me on the Twitters.

Back to top button